46 Professors, Others Die In UNIBUJA, FUTMINNA – ASUU

The Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU), Abuja zone, has expressed profound grief over the loss of 46 esteemed academics within their universities.

This tragic toll includes institutions such as the University of Abuja, Federal University of Technology Minna, Federal University Lafia, Nasarawa State University Nasarawa, and Ibrahim Babaginda University, Lapai.

The recent demise of Professor Johnson Oyero, a renowned scholar in Fisheries at the Federal University of Technology, Minna, has been attributed to the lack of access to quality medical facilities.

Salahu Muhammed, the Zonal Coordinator of ASUU, Abuja zone, has highlighted the adverse impact of poor remuneration and working conditions on the mental and physical well-being of academic staff, noting that many have succumbed to the pressure, stress, and associated health issues.

Muhammed emphasized that the loss of 46 members within universities in the Abuja zone underscores the severity of the situation, and he mourned the recent passing of Professor Oyero, whose death highlights the dire consequences of inadequate access to quality healthcare.

ASUU has reiterated its call for urgent reforms to address the systemic challenges facing the education sector, including the need for improved funding, better infrastructure, and enhanced welfare for academic staff.

The union urged stakeholders to prioritize the well-being of educators and invest in creating a conducive environment for teaching, research, and scholarly pursuits.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Verified by MonsterInsights