Full List: Seven Proposed New States In 2024 You Should Know

Since the beginning of President Bola Tinubu’s administration, the National Assembly has appeared to be working toward making a significant change in the constitutional amendment process, particularly the creation of new states in the southern part of the country.

Though there has been a constitutional amendment since the return of democracy in 1999, the tenth assembly seems to be making moves for a big difference and setting big records with the agitation for creating new states.

On its part, the federal government is also moving to set some records that Nigerians will forever point to as President Tinubu’s legacies, such as the Lagos to Calabar coastal highway and the move for local government autonomy.

If all these could be achieved within one term, four years of Tinubu’s administration, then the tenth assembly and the president would have something to be remembered for because most of these things were last done by the military.

Seven new states have been proposed at the National Assembly, both in the Senate and the House of Representatives.

Below are the new states:

Oke-Ogun state

The proposed Oke-Ogun state will be carved out of the present Oyo state. It comprises 12 local government areas, which are: Olorunsogo, Irepo, Oorerelope, Ogbomosho North, Ogbomosho South, Saki-East, Saki-West, Atisbo, Itesiwaju, Iwajowa, Kajola, and Iseyin.

The bill for the creation of the Oke-Ogun, Ijebu and Ife-Ijesha states was sponsored by Honourable Oluwole Oke, a lawmaker representing the people of Obokun/Oriade federal constituency in Osun state, is the chairman of the House Committee on the Judiciary.

Ijebu state

Like the Oke-Ogun state, Ijebu state was also sponsored by Honourable Oke in the lower chamber. Ijebu state, as proposed, will be carved out of the present Ogun state. It comprises nine local government areas: Ijebu East, Ijebu North-East, Ijebu Ode, Ikenne, Odogbolu, Ogun Waterside, Remo North, Sagamu, and some parts of the Ogun state capital, Abeokuta (partially).

The proposed Ijebu state is situated in southwestern Nigeria, bordering Lagos State to the west and Ondo state to the east. The region is known for its rich cultural heritage, historical significance, and economic importance.


Another state the Osun lawmaker proposed is Ife-Ijesha, which would be carved out of the present Osun state.

The proposed state comprises nine local government areas: Atakunmosa East, Atakunmosa West, Boluwaduro, Ife Central, Ife East, Ife North, Ife South, Ilesa East, and Ilesa West.

Adada state

The Nigerian Senate has taken the first step towards creating a new state, Adada, by passing a bill for the first reading on July 2. The bill, sponsored by Senator Okey Ezea, aims to amend the country’s constitution to create a new state from the existing Enugu North senatorial district.

The proposed Adada state would comprise six local government areas: Igbo-Eze North, Igbo-Eze South, Udenu, Nsukka, Igga, and Uzo-Uwani. Nsukka, a major urban centre in Enugu state, would serve as the new state’s capital.

Etiti state

This is another new state in the southeast region proposed on Tuesday, July 2. The House held the first reading of the bill seeking to establish the new state, which was sponsored by five lawmakers: Miriam Onuoha, Chinwe Nnabuife, Amobi Ogah, Anayo Onwuegbu, and Kama Nkemkama.

According to the bill, the proposed Etiti state will be carved out of the five southeast states, namely Ebonyi, Enugu, Anambra, Abia, and Imo.

Other proposed new states in southeast region

Other new states under proposal at the National Assembly are Orlu and Anioma. The former will have 28 local government areas, while the latter will have nine.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Verified by MonsterInsights