Kogi Assembly Extends Tenure Of LG Transition Committee Chairmen

The Kogi State House of Assembly has extended the tenure of the Local Government Transition Committee Chairmen by another six months.

The development was part of the resolution of the state legislature during the house plenary on Friday.

The extension is coming after a letter was written to the House by the state Governor, Usman Ododo.

Ododo said in the letter that the paucity of funds, high wage bill are some of the reasons why Local Government election cannot be conducted in the state.

Speaker of the House, Rt. Hon. Umar Yusuf, who read the letter, urged the transition committee chairmen to be good ambassadors of their respective local governments.

In the next six months, it will be interesting at the local government level as there will be mostly submission of reports to the Assembly. The Chairmen henceforth should take note of this,” he stated.

It was gathered that the tenure of the 21 Transition Committee Chairmen in Kogi State was expected to expire on the 8th of July, 2024.

Following the approval by the house, the Transition Committee Chairmen are now expected to vacate their offices on 8th January 2025 when the local government election will be duly conducted.


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Verified by MonsterInsights