NDIC Lists 20 Failed Nigerian Banks, Asks Customers To Come For Their Money

Published by admin on

The Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation (NDIC) has listed the names of 20 failed banks and said it will pay their depositors.

The Corporation revealed in a statement that depositors, creditors, and shareholders will get an additional N16.16 billion in payment.

“Depositors, creditors, and shareholders of 20 failed banks in Nigeria will get an additional N16.18 billion in liquidation dividends, the Nigeria Deposit Insurance Corporation (NDIC) said.

The latest payment will increase dividends paid to the depositors to N61,63 billion after making cumulative payments of liquidation dividends totaling N45,45 billion as of July 2023, representing amounts exceeding the insured sums to depositors of the 20 banks.

In a statement issued by NDIC Director of Communications and Public Affairs, Bashir Nuhu, the 20 failed banks were among the banks that had shut down previously due to the revocation of their operating licences by the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) between 1994 and 2018.

He said the statement followed a trending report that 20 new banks had shut down.

The statement reads: “The general public should be aware that the NDIC has fulfilled its commitment by paying the guaranteed sums owed to depositors.

Additionally, the Corporation has made cumulative payments of liquidation dividends totalling N45.45 billion as of July 2023, representing amounts exceeding the guaranteed sums to depositors of the 20 banks.

“In light of further recoveries from debtors of the liquidated banks, the Corporation has announced an additional N16.18 billion in liquidation dividends to be paid to depositors, creditors, and shareholders of the 20 banks in liquidation.”

In the event of the failure of a financial institution and the revocation of its licence by the CBN, the NDIC will reimburse eligible depositors up to the maximum insured amount of N500,000 in Deposit Money Banks (DMBs) and Primary Mortgage Banks (PMBs) and N200,000 in Microfinance Banks (MfBs).

The Corporation sells the assets of failed banks and collects debts owing to them so that depositors whose claims are greater than the maximum insured sums of N200,000 for MFBs and N500,000 for PMBs can receive liquidation dividends on a pro-rata basis.

The liquidation dividend is the amount paid to depositors by the NDIC after a bank is liquidated if the depositor’s amount exceeds the insured amounts. Payments to creditors and shareholders are made from the proceeds after all depositors have been repaid from the assets of closed financial institutions.

The statement from the NDIC further listed the closed banks to include:

“The closed banks covered by this exercise include Liberty Bank, City Express Bank, Assurance Bank, Century Bank, Allied Bank, Financial Merchant Bank, Icon Merchant Bank, Progress Bank, Merchant Bank of Africa (MBA), Premier Commercial Bank, North-South Bank, and Prime Merchant Bank. Others are Commercial Trust Bank, Cooperative and Commerce Bank, Rims Merchant Bank, Pan African Bank, Fortune Bank, All States Trust Bank, Nigeria Merchant Bank, and Amicable Bank in-liquidation.”

Categories: News


Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Verified by MonsterInsights